Scent of a marigold

Somehow I skipped right over Sunday's Green Thumb column in The Press-Citizen, our local newspaper, but I noticed it while browsing news of our primary election results today. Judy Terry lists some (mostly) deer-proof perennials, and also provides a few suggestions on how to keep rabbits out of the garden.

The breaking news of importance to our little plot? Rabbits hate the smell of marigolds. Maybe that's why I've only been spotting them in other people's yards lately…

8 Responses to “Scent of a marigold”


  1. 1 steven June 7, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    I’m not too fond of the smell myself

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener June 8, 2006 at 12:29 am

    Ha ha! Is your Jack Russell chasing you? Are you reeeeeally a rabbit?

    :-) Genie

  3. 3 Jeanne June 8, 2006 at 9:39 am

    Deer and rabbits may not like marigolds and zinnias, but my local squirrels LOVE them!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener June 8, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    Jeanne, do the squirrels eat them? Or just go right by them on the way to the rest of your garden?

    Genie

  5. 5 Talbin June 10, 2006 at 9:18 am

    I know this comment is a bit behind times, but I thought I would let you know . . . rabbits (at least in Minnesota) not only don’t mind the smell of marigolds, they will even eat marigolds. I wouldn’t believe it if I hadn’t seen it myself. And, even if the Iowa rabbits don’t like them, they will most likely just go around the marigolds to get to what they want.

    I have found, after a few years of heartbreak, that nothing keeps rabbits away from plants except some sort of fence.

  6. 6 Henry January 3, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    The squirrels in my garden in the UK love to eat French dwarf marigolds but dislike the taste of African marigolds!

    They also like to eat Tulip bulbs but hate alliums.

    Truly connoisseurs!

    • 7 Janine June 6, 2009 at 7:18 pm

      Actually…the Texas squirrels are eating my brand new Africa Marigolds. They eat the blooms right off them and leave the evidence behind. Not sure how to keep them away. :)

      perplexed in Texas

  7. 8 inadvertentgardener January 5, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Henry, that’s pretty funny — gourmet squirrels, eh?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!