Outing myself

On the Tuesday night after we put in the garden, I outed myself to my parents. “We’ve put in a garden,” I said. “We’ll see how it goes.”

My Dad, who grew up on a dairy farm in St. Lawrence County, New York, let out a long, approving, “Oh!”

“A garden!” Mom said.

“Like I said, we’ll see how it goes,” I said. “No matter what, it will be interesting.”

We talked for another 25 minutes or so about non-garden-related things (the Dave Brubek performance my parents attended over the weekend, Dad’s latest adventures with the JV girls softball team he coaches, the tornado warning that drove me from the pool mid-workout), and then, because Steve and I were about ready to eat dinner, we began to say our goodbyes.

“Before we go, I want to congratulate you again on the garden,” Dad said. “I think that’s an excellent endeavor.”

I might be 32, but it’s still good to get the parental seal of approval.

2 Responses to “Outing myself”


  1. 1 Al_Pal February 5, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Awww. Sweet Dad! ;)

  2. 2 The Inadvertent Gardener February 5, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Al_Pal, he definitely is. :-)

    In the meantime, am closing comments here, ’cause this is the old version of the blog! I invite you to join me over at http://www.theinadvertentgardener.com.


Comments are currently closed.



Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!