Bite me

Just after I bought my first set of plants this year, I heard a commentary on NPR by Elizabeth Gilbert. Her recently published memoir, Eat, Pray, Love, covers the year she spent in Italy, India and Indonesia, following a bad divorce.

This commentary focused on her experience with vipassana meditation at dusk in India, as mosquitoes dive-bombed her. She describes the intensity of the bites, and how that feeling lifted her to a true meditative state.

I remember listening to it as I drove down I-380, thinking about my lifelong war with mosquitoes. Across the world, mosquitoes unite when they see me, and say, “Hey, look—it’s a tasty morsel!” Then they attack.

As we dug in the garden that first night, I heard a familiar whine near my left ear, then another, pitched just slightly lower, near my right. I was wearing long pants, long sleeves and gardening gloves, but where I bent over, my shirt exposed a swath of skin on my lower back. Within moments, I realized that skin, bone-white in the fading light, was like a beacon to the bloodsuckers. I slapped, I scratched, I wriggled my back as best I could, but the longer we worked, the more welts rose up between the waistband of my pants and my shirt hem.

“Are you getting bit?” I asked Steve.

He stopped digging for a minute and cocked his head while he considered the state of his bare skin. “Yeah, I think I am.”

“They’re eating me alive,” I said. “Where are they coming from? Isn’t it awfully early for mosquitoes?” It seemed unfair that they’d be on the rampage so early in May.

It was then that I thought of Elizabeth Gilbert’s commentary, and though I certainly wasn’t meditating, I decided I would try to take her words to heart and see if I could just be, no matter how many of the damn things bit me. I didn’t have to find inner peace, just a momentary lapse of my current level of misery.

Just then, as I breathed deeply and tried to acknowledge the mosquitoes as just a part of the cycle of life, something in the sky caught my attention. I turned my head and stood up to see what it was.

Up at treetop level, swooping back and forth, were a pair of bats in search of a snack. I don’t know much about gardening, but I do know that having bats around can help keep down some of the moths and other pests that feed on plants. Without the mosquitoes, we probably wouldn’t have our bat buddies hanging around. It’s all just one big cycle.

“Bite me,” I muttered to the mosquitoes. It might not have been inner peace, but for that moment, it was enough.

7 Responses to “Bite me”


  1. 1 steven May 25, 2006 at 9:36 am

    I just think about malaria and dengue fever and swat them!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener May 25, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    Funny stuff…after living in Africa, I’m fairly unworried about the malaria issues in Iowa City…

    You know, I don’t even spend much time worrying about West Nile Virus! Perhaps I’m not careful enough…

    :-) Genie

  3. 3 Petunia's Gardener May 26, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    Yeah! Bats! Love those garden critters but for some reason they don’t visit our current house (I’ve wondered if it is because without street lights, we don’t pull in as many bugs as we did in a subdivision that had bats). Mosquitoes take me to insane state, not meditative, I think. I enjoy visiting your blog. Loved the transplanted green eggs too. Happy gardening.

  4. 4 Jake June 15, 2006 at 10:33 am

    Swap mosquitoes for bees and then you’ll have something to meditate on. I remember it like it was yesterday… I was down at the Offoue River washing dishes in my boxers, sweating like mad and covered in bees. I discovered the only way to keep from getting stung was to strip down, move slowly, and pretend to enjoy the bee-cleaning as they walked drunken circles over my skin slurping sweat with bristly little tongues. That’s some super ninja meditation.

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener June 16, 2006 at 6:41 am

    Jake, the thought of little bee tongues gives me the willies. You’re right…you win the meditation championship!

    Genie

  6. 6 Al_Pal February 5, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Yowza. The general lack of skeeters is another thing to love about Cali!


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on June 14, 2006 at 6:07 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!