Relocation

Disposition of the eggsSteve and I figured we didn’t have much time to make a decision about the green eggs. Some web sites we visited said it could be as soon as three to five days before the eggs hatched into caterpillars of some kind, assuming they’re part of the moth or butterfly family.

The comments on Green eggs, no ham prompted much discussion at our house, so thank you for those who stepped in and offered ideas.

Even my Dad weighed in from Pennsylvania. Without even seeing the photo of the eggs, he said, “I suggest that you take that blue gardening glove and crush them with your thumb.”

I gagged.

“If you’re trying to be an organic gardener, you need to know the first rule,” he said. “Pick off anything you see and crush it with your glove. When you see eggs under the leaves of your plants, do the same thing. It used to be that we could take the bugs we saw and drop them in a little bucket of kerosene, but now I think the accepted solution is soapy water.”

But the upshot is this: I would hate to kill butterflies before their caterpillars even hatch. So, on Monday night, Steve moved the eggs to their new home, which can be seen here from the side and from the top. It’s a luxurious penthouse, constructed from a recycled bottle of LaCroix lime-flavored seltzer, which is also known in our house as Fizzy. “Do you want some Fizzy to drink with dinner?” is the question of the night, just about every night.

Yes, LaCroix, I am accepting any and all offers for blog sponsorship.

But back to the eggs. Steve relocated them off the garden stake where their mother left them, and made sure they had some greenery for their dining pleasure. They might not hatch, but at least I feel like we’re trying to coexist with them. If they turn out to be butterflies, terrific, but at bare minimum, they won’t end up as caterpillars munching on the nearest local food source (a.k.a. Our Garden) in the meantime.

Looking down on the eggs

4 Responses to “Relocation”


  1. 1 Corina June 9, 2006 at 9:11 am

    Welcome to the wonderful world of gardening, Genie and Steve! And yes, you can actually buy fox urine (and doe urine) and probably skunk urine if you look hard enough. Try the hunting aisle at Walmart or the local bait shop. I aint kidding. I had bottles of pee in my fridge every summer–to scatter around the garden or to attract the elusive buck for Captain Underpants. I leave you with this visual: my parents peeing in a jar for a couple of days (the same jar) so that my mom could keep “da freeking deer” out of her garden. Worked for a while, but now she just asks me to steal hotel soap when I travel. Enjoy :)

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener June 9, 2006 at 6:09 pm

    Hey Corina,

    First, you crack me up.

    Second, your mother cracks me up even more.

    Third, does she use the hotel soap in the garden? Or has she given up due to “da freaking deer”?

    :-) Genie


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on May 30, 2006 at 8:43 am
  2. 2 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on June 12, 2006 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!